top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Leedberg

Getting Started

I was a horrible student. How I got here is a wonder to any who knew me as a teenager and young adult. Today, now, I love school. Since entering the field of education seven years ago I've learned much.


I've learned that teachers are some of the most diligent students when it comes to perfecting their craft. They willingly participate in hours of professional development on top of everything else they do to keep the classroom activities relevant. But, they are tired, burned out, and ready to be appreciated for all they do.



I've learned that students are diverse and that they are all coping with the radically dynamic world we have given them. They are often angry and apathetic at the same time and to some extent, they are traumatized by social media, gun violence, heated political discourse, and of course, COVID-19. But, they are creative and ready to make an impact.


I've learned that I go to school every day to fulfill my duties as an educator, and yet I am the one who is learning. I believe that field of education is going through a radical shift, and that the key to right educational reform, from Pre-K through college, will be the creation of truly student-centered schools. Schools that are inherently diverse & equitable, and that foster a community of belonging and mattering. In this setting, students will learn to navigate change using the right tools at the right time. With this knowledge, they will become future-ready and make bold contributions to society.

0 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page